top of page

Pet Loss:

It's never easy to say goodbye to our family pets, whether it's through illness, injury or euthanasia. They are special friends that have worked their way into our hearts, given us unconditional love, and trusted us to take care of them throughout their lives. When they leave us, we need to journey through the grief process.

The traditional stages of grief include denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Even though they're described as stages, they're not meant to be experienced in a logical or orderly fashion, with defined beginnings or endings. All five stages can be experienced over a period of hours or a period of months; even after you've moved on, some stages can resurface when triggered by a memory or an event.

Grief is a personal experience, but you don't have to go through it alone. If you look around the internet, you'll find many resources that can help. Here are a few links to get you started:


Here are a few links to get you started:

American Veterinary Medical Association

American Animal Hospital Association

Association for Pet Loss and Bereavement

UC - Davis Pet Loss Hotline

Mobile Veterinary Service

bottom of page